Chicken Enchiladas

20161007_194614

This week, I tackled making homemade chicken enchiladas.  This seems to scare a lot of people, or at least the cashier at Wal-Mart.  It was surprisingly easy to make!  I think it helped that I used a lot of canned products and pre-chopped green onion.  I was really quite pleased with this one.  Also, I made sure to take pictures as I went to help illustrate the process a bit better.  If you’re like me, pictures are always a plus when making a new recipe.

20161007_174820

To start with, I marinaded my chicken in the juice of two limes, about 4 cloves of garlic (I just use store-bought minced garlic and guesstimated), and some kosher salt.  I let it marinade covered in the fridge for about an hour or so.  I forgot to cut the chicken into strips, but it worked just as well whole.  I’d probably puncture it next time so that the marinade can get all in there and do it’s thing.  That’s also a diced onion there next to the chicken.

20161007_175250

I sauteed the chicken and onions together in a little vegetable oil until the onions became soft and the chicken had begun to brown.  Then I added my tomatoes, green chile peppers, black olives, cream of chicken soup, and chicken broth.

20161007_180224

Let that all swim together for about half an hour or so.  Then take the chicken out so you can shred it together.  Let the sauce reduce for a while longer until there’s just about 2 and a quarter cups left.  Then take your shredded chicken and mix it in a bowl with some of your sauce and some sliced green onions.  That will help hold your filling together for when you stuff your enchiladas.  Pour the remaining sauce into your 9″x13″ pan.

20161007_190736

Heat some heavy cream into a saucepan and dip your tortillas into it.  This will help soften them so that when you’re rolling your enchiladas.  I think it might add a little bit of flavor, too.  Stuff your enchiladas with your chicken mixture and cheese.

20161007_191036

Roll ’em up and put them in the pan, seam side down!  This is super important, otherwise they won’t hold together and you’ll end up with a soggy tostada instead of an enchilada.  Top with enchilada sauce, more cheese, and more green onions.  Bake at 350F for 25-30 minutes.

20161007_194307

Voila!  Beautiful delicious shredded chicken enchiladas!  They have a little heat to them, but not too much, which is great for me (I can’t handle too much heat at all).  I ate them with sour cream, personally.  Now it’s your turn!  Maybe switch them up a little for a Taco Tuesday or something.

The original recipe can be found here.  Let me know what you think!  Comment and follow!  Also, feel free to follow me on Twitter! @cfFlare

Leave a Reply

