Penne with Butternut Squash and Goat Cheese

penne-with-butternut-squash-and-goat-cheese

Hello everyone!  I’m a little late with this post, so I apologize.  My goal is to post every Saturday, but this weekend got a little hectic so I didn’t get it done.  Here it is, though!  Penne with butternut squash and a goat cheese sauce!

This recipe was a really basic one, so there’s just the end product picture since everything was fairly self-explanatory.  First off, cube a butternut squash and dice an onion. Here’s a good video on how to peel and cube a butternut squash (I had no idea how to do it at first; thank God for Youtube).  Place on a sheet pan and drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Bake at 425F for about 40-45 minutes.  After this point, it pretty much becomes a waiting game until the veggies are done.

Once you get the vegetables out of the oven, cook your pasta while they cool.  Now we’re going to make the easiest, simplest sauce on the planet.  Dump the goat cheese into the bottom of a large bowl.  Take about a cup of the pasta water and dump that into the bowl with the cheese.  Stir until the cheese melts and BAM!  Sauce = done!

Mix in the pasta and veggies and that’s about it!  I topped individual servings with the chopped walnuts and skipped toasting them.  At that point, it felt like it was rather late and I just didn’t feel like doing it.  They work fine untoasted and still provide that much needed crunch that this dish needs.

Now, when you look at Giada’s, don’t judge mine since her’s looks a lot prettier than mine.  My squash got a little mushy when I was mixing it in with the pasta.  Either my bowl was too narrow or I overcooked it, I’m not sure.  It still tastes good, just a little messy.  Oh well!

Leave a Reply

