It’s a Late Night, Double Feature: Parmesan Chicken and Mushroom Risotto

20161028_203002

 

Hey guys!  I know, I know.  I’m late again…my bad.  So, as a reward, we have not one, but TWO recipes this week!  Now, I know what you’re thinking. “Whaaat?!  How am I supposed to do two recipes at the same time?!”  Never fear!  There’s a certain trick to it.  In this case, the chicken takes a long time to cook, giving you plenty of time to make the risotto while it’s in the oven.

I must say, I was rather glad to finally give risotto a try.  I’ve always heard that it’s pretty dang amazing, but I’ve never tasted it before, let alone made it.  I also knew that it was going to be a little bit of a challenge due to seeing it done on Chopped so many times, and seeing it fail there so many times.  Having done it now, I think it mainly fails there due to the time constraint, rather than difficulty.

So, here we go.  Start with the chicken.  I’ll be honest here.  The chicken was so easy and so fast to make, I completely forgot to take pictures until it was too late….You can see the finished product up there, though. *points at top of post*

Basically, you throw the seasoning and bread crumbs (which I forgot to do and put them on top after the fact…oops) in a giant baggie, put one piece of the chicken in the bag at a time, and shake it to coat.  Lightly oil the bottom of your baking dish, put the chicken in it, pour melted butter over it, and then bake.  After 45 minutes, take the chicken out and pour the wine over it. Cover and then bake for another 15 minutes.  This allows the wine to basically steam in there with the chicken.

I must say, however, my chicken didn’t turn out that well at all, in my opinion.  It turned out dry and soggy at the same time, which I realize doesn’t make much sense.  Well, it was soggy on the outside and drrryyyyy on the inside.  Like desert dry.  I’d suggest maybe covering the chicken in butter before covering it with the seasonings and reducing the cook time.  I’d say 30 minutes uncovered should be enough.  Also, pour the wine into the bottom of the pan, instead of over the chicken.  It’ll still absorb the flavor from the steam and it should, hopefully, prevent the chicken from getting soggy.

Now for the fun part: the risotto.  This takes a bit more effort.  I’d suggest starting on this as soon as you get the chicken in the oven.  It’s very time-consuming.  First of all, with this recipe it is very important to get everything ready ahead of time because once that rice hits the pan, you cannot stop stirring it.  Even if your arm starts to feel like it’s going to fall off, and it will, don’t stop stirring.

To that end, get your broth in a pot on low heat.  As low as it’ll go.  You don’t want to actually cook it, just heat it up a little bit.  Heat some oil in a large saucepan and throw in your ‘shrooms.  Cook them down until they’re nice and soft.  Dump them into a bowl, juices included (not sure why you’d get rid of them anyway).  In the same pan, add some more oil and add your shallots.  Cook them down for about a minute or so.

20161028_193733So many mushrooms…..

Now is the part where it get tricky and takes forever, it feels like.  It’ll be worth it though!  I promise!  Add in your rice and stir it around so it gets coated in oil.  Now, add about a ladleful of broth.  Stir it in with the rice until the rice has fully absorbed it.  Then add another ladleful of broth and stir until the rice has absorbed it.  Rinse and repeat (don’t actually rinse; it’s just an expression) until the rice is fully cooked.  It should be creamy and delicious looking.

20161028_195507Creamy and yummy!

This sort of deliciousness takes a while to put it’s beauty face on.  It’s going to take about 20 minutes or so to fully cook, if not a bit longer.  Keep at it, though!  It will eventually get there!  When it’s done, remove from heat and add in the mushrooms with their juices, butter, chives, and then some salt and pepper to your liking.

Voila!  You’ve successfully made risotto!  It’s a fairly simple thing to make, it’s just labor intensive and time consuming.

Here’s the original recipes:

Parmesan Chicken

Mushroom Risotto

Enjoy!  Leave me a comment or follow my blog!  Let me know how it goes for you!

One thought on “It’s a Late Night, Double Feature: Parmesan Chicken and Mushroom Risotto

Leave a Reply

