Spinach and Artichoke Dip

20161103_093551

Life has been quite busy lately with the election and all, so I’m a bit late….again.  Things should slow down now to where I can be better with timeliness now.  This time I’m doing a great party dish: spinach and artichoke dip.  This one is done in a slow cooker, which makes it ideal for a gathering as it’ll stay warm for a while (if there’s any left!)  It’s super easy to make and is somewhat customizable.

First, soften 2 packages of cream cheese in the microwave.  Then mix about 3/4c. of half and half with the cream cheese and stir until mixed well.  There will probably still be some clumps of cream cheese in there, but that’s ok!  It’s all going to melt together anyway.

20161102_204410
Not so smooth and creamy…

Then you’re going to mix in some spinach.  I prefer to use fresh spinach, although you could definitely use frozen as well.  If you use fresh, I generally chop it up a bit so that you don’t get the long strings of spinach when you’re dipping, but it’s really up to you.  It’ll wilt and mix just fine in the slow cooker.  I’d also recommend adding the fresh spinach in batches and mixing it together.  It’ll seem dry when you do so, but again, the spinach will wilt as it cooks and it’ll turn out just fine.  Try to resist adding some more half and half.  Also add some chopped onion (I used half of an onion, but use as little or as much as you like), minced garlic, 1/2c. grated Parmesan cheese and a jar of drained and chopped artichoke hearts.

20161102_210936
Note the dryness….it’ll be ok!

Dump it all into a slow cooker and turn it on high for about 1-2 hours.  Top with the cheese of your choice (I used cheddar).  I’d let that cook on low for a little bit longer so that the cheese melts and then voila!  It’s all done and delicious.  I like to use pita chips for dipping, but you could really use whatever you want.  Some toasted bread french bread would also be an awesome pairing.

This is a pretty awesome dip that I love to make whenever I have friends over.  It’s also perfect for football parties!  Since it’s in a slow cooker, you can keep it right on the coffee table so that nobody has to miss any action.

I hope you all enjoyed this!  Please leave me a like or a comment below!  Also follow me on Twitter!  Let me know if you make one of my recipes and how it went for you!  I know of one person who took the pasta bake recipe and used some cubed chicken instead of ground beef.

Leave a Reply

