Healthier Lasagna

I love lasagna, personally.  It’s super yummy and super customizable.  You can literally do whatever you want with it.  Also, for those of you who have children, it’s a great recipe to start them with, whether it be helping you in the kitchen, or making the whole thing themselves.  It’s such a simple dish but it always looks amazing, which should, hopefully, give them a big confident boost in the kitchen.

I got this recipe from AllRecipes.com a long time ago.  They send me recipes daily and I just shove the ones I think I’ll like into a separate folder in my email.  I had veered away from them for a while and was making recipes from my various cookbooks and magazines, but I think I’m going to get back into making recipes from there.  I originally made this blog for the intention of testing out those home-cook recipes, so I’d like to get back into that.  So, without further ado, here go:

This recipe calls itself “Healthier World’s Best Lasagna”.  Now, I don’t know about the whole “World’s Best” thing, but it was definitely pretty dang good.  I’m also not entirely sure if it actually is healthier for you, but it’s worth a shot.  I did make some changes from the original, but not too many.  First of all, I did change the amount of time I let my sauce simmer.  The recipe calls for it to simmer for about an hour and a half, which, when you’re crunched for time after work one day, isn’t gonna happen.  I let mine cook for a good half hour or so, which seemed to be enough.  It was probably a bit looser than it was supposed to have been, but oh well.  It still turned out well.

The recipe also called for the lasagna noodles to be cooked ahead of time.  DO NOT COOK THE NOODLES AHEAD OF TIME.  There is enough sauce and cook time in order to cook the noodles in the pan.  I did this and it turned out just fine.

IMG_20170306_184323.jpg
Saucy!

Once the sauce is done, the rest is easy!  Also, at least for me, I had a bunch of leftover sauce, which can be used for pretty much anything.  Now comes the fun part: the layering.  This is where I differed from the recipe again, but just a little bit.  They called for 6 lasagna noodles per layer, which I honestly can’t figure out how they manage to make that fit.  They must have used the thinnest noodles ever, or they way overlapped them.  I used 3 lasagna noodles per layer, and that turned out just fine.

Anyway, put a cup and a half of sauce in the bottom of the baking dish (9″x 13″).  Place your noodles on top of the sauce.  Next comes half of the ricotta, then a third of the mozzarella cheese slices.  I left my slices whole, but I think next time I’d tear them up and spread them out more evenly.  Then another cup and a half of sauce and a quarter cup of Parmesan cheese.  Repeat these layers, starting with the noodles ending with the Parmesan cheese.  Place the rest of the mozzarella cheese on top and then top that with the remaining Parmesan cheese.

IMG_20170306_190452.jpg
Layer 1:  Sauce, noodles, ricotta, mozzarella

Cover this deliciousness with aluminum foil (make sure the foil doesn’t touch the cheese, which is probably shouldn’t anyway).  Bake at 375F for 25 minutes.  Then remove foil and bake for another 25 minutes.  After you remove it from the oven, let it sit and cool for at least 5-10 minutes, if not the full 15 minutes the recipe recommends.

IMG_20170306_200016.jpg
The finished product!

If I were to make this again, I would probably add some more vegetables to the sauce such as mushrooms or green peppers.

All in all, I think this was an excellent recipe and definitely worthy of making again!

You can find the original recipe here.

One thought on “Healthier Lasagna

Leave a Reply

